ILO confirms MLC 2006 to enter into force in 2013

Following on from Weekly News 33 where we reported that the Senate of the Philippines, the final signatory party, unanimously passed Resolution No. 829, the International Labour Organization (ILO) has issued a news release stating that the Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 (MLC 2006) has now been ratified by thirty nations.

Those nations represent more than 33% of the world’s gross shipping tonnage and as a result, MLC 2006 will enter into force next year on 20 August 2013. The Convention establishes minimum requirements for almost all aspects of working conditions for seafarers including conditions of employment, hours of work and rest, accommodation, recreational facilities, food and catering, health protection, medical care, welfare and social security protection.

MLC 2006 replaces 37 existing ILO maritime conventions and related recommendations. Please note that MLC 2006 includes a “no less favourable treatment” clause, meaning that Member States will be obligated to ensure that the ships that fly the flag of any State that has not ratified the Convention do not receive more favourable treatment than the ships that fly the flag of any State that has ratified it.

The following countries have ratified MLC 2006: Liberia, Marshall Islands, Bahamas, Panama, Norway, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Spain, Croatia, Bulgaria, Canada, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Switzerland, Benin, Singapore, Denmark, Antigua and Barbuda, Latvia, Luxembourg, Kiribati, Netherlands, Australia, St Kitts and Nevis, Tuvalu, Togo, Poland, Palau, Sweden, Cyprus, Russian Federation and the Philippines.

Source: Dennis Bryant Maritime

Contact: John Boreman